Recipe: Healthy, Natural Trail Mix

I adore trail mix! It’s an amazing snack to always have handy. It’s super portable and is a healthy pick-me-up through-out the day or while travelling. I’ve looked at store-bought ones but they’re all filled with SALT and HYDROGENATED OILS, not the mention expensive and usually filled with candy. I decided I would make my own, that way I KNOW what’s going into it. One stop at Bulk Barn and I was set!


Trail Mix

 

You can tweak the ingredients to your own liking but I find this mix to be fantastic. I also eye-ball most of the measurements in this recipe, so more measurements I give are approximate.

 

What you will need:

2 cups natural unsalted almonds Lower risk of heart attack and bad cholesterol!

2 cups raisins High in fibre and a great source of energy!

1 cup natural unsalted cashews Full of ‘proanthocyanidins’ which lower cancer risks!

1 cup natural unsalted peanuts Great source of energy and amino acids!

1 cup dried cranberries Packed with vitamins C, E and fibre

1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds, husked and unsalted Great source of magnesium!

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (at least 70% cocoa) High in “flavonoids” aka antioxidants

Handful natural unsalted pine nuts Rich in vitamins A, C and D + protein!

Handful husked unsalted sunflower seeds Full of vitamin E, magnesium and copper!

Handful banana chips Packed with iron and potassium!

Mix all together and store in an airtight container. Carry with you in your purse, car, gym bag. Have some by your desk at work! This is a great snack to help curb your appetite and quiet those afternoon munchies.

Homemade Trail Mix

 

Enjoy this delicious and nutritious snack. Let me know what you added to your homemade trail mix!

One thought on “Recipe: Healthy, Natural Trail Mix

Leave a Reply

